Jimi Hendrix - Live at the Fillmore East mp3 album

Jimi Hendrix - Live at the Fillmore East mp3 album
Album Rock,Blues-Rock,Hard Rock,Psychedelic/Garage,Rock & Roll,Acid Rock
  • Performer:
    Jimi Hendrix
  • Title:
    Live at the Fillmore East
  • Genre:
  • Style:
    Album Rock,Blues-Rock,Hard Rock,Psychedelic/Garage,Rock & Roll,Acid Rock
  • Date of release:
  • Duration:
Jimi Hendrix - Live at the Fillmore East mp3 album

  • Size FLAC version
    1849 mb
  • Size MP3 version
    1624 mb
  • Size WMA version
    1121 mb
  • Rating:
  • Votes:
  • Formats:

Track List - Disc 1

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 Stone Free Jimi Hendrix Jimi Hendrix 12:56
2 Power of Soul Jimi Hendrix Jimi Hendrix 6:19
3 Hear My Train a Comin' Jimi Hendrix Jimi Hendrix 9:02
4 Izabella Jimi Hendrix Jimi Hendrix 3:40
5 Machine Gun Jimi Hendrix Jimi Hendrix 11:35
6 Voodoo Child (Slight Return) Jimi Hendrix Jimi Hendrix 6:01
7 We Gotta Live Together Buddy Miles Jimi Hendrix 9:55

Track List - Disc 2

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 Auld Lang Syne Robert Burns / Traditional Jimi Hendrix 3:54
2 Who Knows Jimi Hendrix Jimi Hendrix 3:55
3 Changes Jimi Hendrix / Buddy Miles Jimi Hendrix 5:38
4 Machine Gun Jimi Hendrix Jimi Hendrix 13:36
5 Stepping Stone Jimi Hendrix Jimi Hendrix 5:20
6 Stop Jerry Ragovoy / Mort Shuman Jimi Hendrix 5:43
7 Earth Blues Jimi Hendrix Jimi Hendrix 5:58
8 Burning Desire Jimi Hendrix Jimi Hendrix 8:23
9 Wild Thing Chip Taylor Jimi Hendrix 3:07


Ethan Allen - Engineer
Jan Blom - Photography
Robert Burns - Composer
Billy Cox - Bass, Vocals (Background)
Kevin Crouse - Engineer
Suzanne Dyer - Engineer
Wally Heider - Engineer
Janie Hendrix - Compilation Producer
Jimi Hendrix - Adaptation, Composer, Guitar, Mixing, Primary Artist, Vocals
Eddie Kramer - Compilation Producer, Engineer, Engineering Supervisor, Mastering, Mixing, Remixing
George Marino - Mastering
John McDermott - Compilation Producer, Liner Notes
Buddy Miles - Composer, Drums, Guest Artist, Vocals, Vocals (Background)
Jerry Ragovoy - Composer
Amalie R. Rothschild - Photography
John Seymour - Engineer
Mort Shuman - Composer
Joe Sia - Cover Photo
Chip Taylor - Composer
Traditional - Composer

Hendrix at the absolute height of his powers. This and "Band Of Gypsys" provide as close as a full rendering we will ever get as to what was going on inside his deeply crenelated noggin in 1969. and absolute jaw dropper. If anyone says they don't like this, they might not like music. He's reaching out for all sorts of stuff here, and it's obvious he was on the cusp of another major breakthrough, cut tragically short by his untimely death. One of the greatest American musicians of all time.
1969 had been a year of turmoil and transition for Jimi Hendrix. He was arrested for heroin possession, now believed by many to have been a frame job. His classic Experience trio broke up two months before his headlining the historic Woodstock Festival, after which he had collapsed in what he later described as a nervous breakdown. The construction of his pet project, Electric Lady Studios, was mired in financial woes and other setbacks. His relationships with Chas Chandler and Mike Jeffries, two men who had been instrumental in building him into a star, were dissolved or strained respectively. He was the highest paid rock musician on the planet, yet his finances were in disarray. His house was burgled. He got into repeated drunken fist fights with friends and girlfriends. Amid all this, he assembled a new trio he dubbed the Band of Gypsys with drummer Buddy Miles and bassist Billy Cox.After a brief period of rehearsing, Jimi's new band made its debut in a series of concerts put on during the New Year at the Fillmore East venue in New York City. That the band played with the intensity and unity that it did amid such drama and with such little time together is beyond impressive. Miles and Cox formed as solid and funky of a rhythm section as Jimi would ever enjoy, resulting in some of his best concert recordings. Some of the original songs from those shows were pieced together for the Band of Gypsys LP released a few months before the guitarist's untimely death.This two-disc set released in 1999 culls together the best of what was left over after the aforementioned record. There are few songs here that will be familiar to casual fans of classic rock radio. Proto-funk rockers like "Power of Soul" and "Burning Desire," as well as the extended blues jam "Hear My Train A Comin'," and the Buddy Miles originals "We Gotta Live Together" and "Changes" would also have been unfamiliar to the audiences who heard them in 1970. However, judging by the applause, they were satisfied, and anyone who listens to this collection with an open mind will be as well.The biggest highlight is the astonishing run-through of "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)," which somehow surpasses the incredible studio version for intensity and technical fireworks before transitioning into the inspired funk of "We Gotta Live Together." This medley is one of the high points of Hendrix's iconic career for me. Even outside of this jaw-dropping moment, there is plenty of terrific musicianship to be found at various points on this record, including the band's take on "Auld Lang Syne."Unfortunately Hendrix's voice was not in the same top form that his guitar playing was, and it is drowned out by the volume of his band. Additionally, these versions of "Stone Free," "Izabella," and "Wild Thing" feel less inspired than much of the rest of the record. Even so, there is more than enough guitar fireworks and funky jams to appease anyone who enjoys great live rock music.