Blue Öyster Cult - The Curse of the Hidden Mirror mp3 album

Blue Öyster Cult - The Curse of the Hidden Mirror mp3 album
Hard Rock,Album Rock
  • Performer:
    Blue Öyster Cult
  • Title:
    The Curse of the Hidden Mirror
  • Genre:
  • Style:
    Hard Rock,Album Rock
  • Duration:
  • Recording Location:
    MillBrook Sound Studios
Blue Öyster Cult - The Curse of the Hidden Mirror mp3 album

  • Size FLAC version
    1541 mb
  • Size MP3 version
    1718 mb
  • Size WMA version
    1854 mb
  • Rating:
  • Votes:
  • Formats:

Track List

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 Dance on Stilts Donald Roeser Blue Öyster Cult 6:05
2 Showtime Eric Bloom Blue Öyster Cult 4:38
3 The Old Gods Return Eric Bloom / Donald Roeser Blue Öyster Cult 4:36
4 Pocket Donald Roeser Blue Öyster Cult 4:16
5 One Step Ahead of the Devil Eric Bloom / Donald Roeser Blue Öyster Cult 4:16
6 I Just Like to Be Bad Eric Bloom Blue Öyster Cult 3:54
7 Here Comes That Feeling Donald Roeser Blue Öyster Cult 3:21
8 Out of the Darkness Eric Bloom / Donald Roeser Blue Öyster Cult 5:06
9 Stone of Love Richard Meltzer / Donald Roeser Blue Öyster Cult 5:49
10 Eye of the Hurricane Eric Bloom / Donald Roeser Blue Öyster Cult 4:41
11 Good to Feel Hungry Eric Bloom / Donald Roeser Blue Öyster Cult 4:12


Eric Bloom - Assistant Producer, Composer, Guitar, Keyboards, Producer, Vocals
Blue Öyster Cult - Primary Artist
Alan Chappell - Design
George Cintron - Vocals (Background)
Buck Dharma - Guitar, Keyboards, Producer, Vocals
Allen Lanier - Guitar, Keyboards
Richard Meltzer - Composer
Danny Miranda - Bass, Keyboards, Vocals
Paul Orofino - Engineer, Mixing
Donald Roeser - Composer
Bob Rondinelli - Drums
Leon Zervos - Mastering

After their somewhat shaky revival, BÖC charge full steam ahead with Curse Of The Hidden Mirror. In a way Hidden is a very clear sequel to Heaven Forbid: a very diverse record of material written throughout their career (the title of the album itself comes from a Stalk Forest Group track that predates BÖC as we know it). However a big difference is there is very little attempt to emulate then-contemporary metal or rock music but instead chooses to embrace the band's past. Heavier tracks like The Old Gods Return or One Step Of The Devil make no attempt to keep the doom and gloom pretense of their counterparts on Heaven Forbid but instead are quite playful and quirky; dropping the chug metal riffs and shouted refrains for classic BÖC hijinks. Old Gods features some pantently ridiculous lyrics over an absolutely delirous guitar riff during the verses before jumping into erratic, jangly rhythm shifts characteristic of Harvester Of Eyes or ME 262. One Step Ahead Of The Devil finds BÖC channeling Black Dog: a fiery Dharma riff backed by Allen Lanier's propulsive organ tear it up before dropping out into silence for Eric's still potent wailing. Eric Bloom is much better presented as a vocalist on the album on the whole. Instead of being confined to the heavy rockers, he gets to show off his versatility on several songs. Showtime is a strange hybrid of prison blues with ska and reggae; the morose ballad Out Of The Darkness displays his gift for supernatural themed characters as narrator; and Good To Feel Hungry is a jazzy good time with a distinct urban feel. However, the Buck Dharma tracks are probably the most immediately succesful songs. Dance On Stilts and Stone Of Love are both magnificent rockers with progressive rock undertones and a full display Dharma's alarming proficiency as a lead guitarist. Pocket and Here Comes That Feeling, while not anywhere as arresting, are still quite catchy delicate pop tunes. While still a little under utilised on keys, Allen Lanier works in several more elegant moments than on Heaven Forbid and the rhythm section of Danny and Bobby could give Joe and Albert at their prime a run for the money. Really the only thing to complain about is the song I Just Like To Be Bad, which just falls flat in every way, and Eye Of The Hurricane (which sounds like a leftover from the metal songs from Heaven Forbid). But it's a huge return to form and a damn shame this may end up being their swan song (though a certain lyricist heavily involved with BÖC shared with me recently that Buck had contacted him about contributing material for a new album sometime soon). But if it is their last, definitely not a bad note to go out on.
The highlights (Dance on Stilts, Showtime, Stone of Love, Pocket, The Old Gods Return) are among their best songs ever and far outweigh the lesser efforts on the album. A classy outing!