Roxy Music - Live at the Apollo [Image DVD] mp3 album

Roxy Music - Live at the Apollo [Image DVD] mp3 album
  • Performer:
    Roxy Music
  • Title:
    Live at the Apollo [Image DVD]
  • Genre:
Roxy Music - Live at the Apollo [Image DVD] mp3 album

  • Size FLAC version
    1914 mb
  • Size MP3 version
    1698 mb
  • Size WMA version
    1710 mb
  • Rating:
  • Votes:
  • Formats:

The final performance on Roxy Music's triumphant 2001 reunion tour is captured for posterity at London's Hammersmith Apollo Theater in a video documentary that delivers the impact and power of the live show. Original Roxy members drummer Paul Thompson, guitarist Phil Manzanera, reed man Andy MacKay, and of course Bryan Ferry -- who displays his talents as a pretty good pianist as well as fashion plate cool singer -- reunited for a 50-date world tour where they played hits as well as more obscure album tracks to generally sold-out audiences. The shows were special because after a 17-year absence, this may be the last time the original bandmembers join to play these songs live. Sensing that, Roxy constructed an hour and 45-minute extravaganza that combined music, showmanship, and spectacle with the class and subtlety fans expect. From the background projections of the band in grainy black and white to the dancing showgirls who make some surprise appearances, to the 21-song set list itself, this is a superb, perfectly paced performance that is far more than a "greatest-hits live" cash-in. The lighting and staging are impressively flashy, but never detract from the music. The band, augmented by five additional musicians and two more backing vocalists, plays these songs with a fire and enthusiasm that seems genuine. Ferry is in terrific form throughout, providing a focal point but never overtly stealing the show, even as he changes his jackets. Second guitarist Chris Spedding works well with the more commanding Manzanera and vocalist Sara Brown, who holds court next to Ferry front stage, is revelatory. She provides emotional counterpoint to these sometimes chilly tunes, adding a warmth and soul that had previously been hidden under the surface of early art-prog minor classics such as "Re-Make Re-Model" and "Street Life." A 17-minute mini-documentary provides interviews with all the major players and gives the viewer a backstage look at the tour and its rehearsals. The surround mix is exhilarating: clear and well-separated but with enough echo and space to sound like a live arena. The camera work is excellent, as well; clean and smooth but not ostentatious, as it fixates on the various soloists, while showing the band's interaction. The ability to flip to on-screen lyrics is also a helpful bonus. Only the puzzling omission of "More Than This," arguably Roxy Music's most popular song, detracts from a show that is every bit the equal of the group's legendary status. With its career-spanning mix of tracks played with inspiration and style, this is what you'll pull out when explaining to newcomers what made this band so special. It's a near-perfect recap of a long, twisted history that coalesces flawlessly.


Roxy Music - Primary Artist