Stratus - Iconoclast mp3 album

Stratus - Iconoclast mp3 album
  • Performer:
  • Title:
  • Genre:
Stratus - Iconoclast mp3 album

  • Size FLAC version
    1300 mb
  • Size MP3 version
    1103 mb
  • Size WMA version
    1339 mb
  • Rating:
  • Votes:
  • Formats:

Paul Chester, Ted Wenglinski, and Dave Nichols continue from an earlier Stratus lineup. They add David Caceres on saxes and Todd Harrison on drums. Well, this is a jazzier, less fusion-feel Stratus, but by no means any less enjoyable. There's still that wonderful Chester guitar tone and style. Think Scott Henderson, Frank Gambale, and Mike Stern. Wenglinski is keyed up in a great way. Nichols' bass work is easily in the top 100 in the U.S., IMHO. Caceres' sax work is straight-up jazz and faultless. Harrison can hang tight on the drums in every flow the piece needs. Gone is that Pekka Pohjola feel to this CD. What you have here is more that Steps Ahead thing with no vibes or predominant sax work, but Chester is pulling it all toward that Mike "Sterno" Stern or Scott Henderson bluesy-jazz sound. Nine of the fourteen tracks are written by Chester. This release leans toward the mainstream, commercially accessible fusion. However, the title track, "Iconoclast," is more that hard-edged, driving, Henderson or Adam Holzman kind of in-your-face-knocking-you-down, jazz-rockin' fusion. Nichols slows things down stretchin' some in a Gary Willis moment before the finale detonates. Track one "Halfway to Heaven" by Nichols was a great opening piece reminding of their Hyperbole release. "Hurricane," "Party Every Sunday," and "Labor Day" each sounded almost exactly like Tribal Tech pieces. This is great jazz fusion happening here. Again Stratus delivers sharp-edged, slick, fired-up tunes.


Stratus - Primary Artist