Shonen Knife - Let's Knife mp3 album

Shonen Knife - Let's Knife mp3 album
Alternative Pop/Rock,Alternative/Indie Rock,Indie Pop,Punk-Pop,Twee Pop
  • Performer:
    Shonen Knife
  • Title:
    Let's Knife
  • Genre:
  • Style:
    Alternative Pop/Rock,Alternative/Indie Rock,Indie Pop,Punk-Pop,Twee Pop
  • Duration:
  • Recording Location:
    Yotsubashi LM Studio, Osaka, Japan
Shonen Knife - Let's Knife mp3 album

  • Size FLAC version
    1907 mb
  • Size MP3 version
    1947 mb
  • Size WMA version
    1407 mb
  • Rating:
  • Votes:
  • Formats:

Track List

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 Riding on the Rocket Naoko Yamano Shonen Knife 3:46
2 Bear up Bison Naoko Yamano Shonen Knife 2:15
3 Twist Barbie Naoko Yamano Shonen Knife 3:56
4 Tortoise Brand Pot Scrubbing Cleaner's Theme (Sea Turtle) Naoko Yamano Shonen Knife 1:41
5 Antonio Baka Guy Naoko Yamano Shonen Knife 1:59
6 Ah, Singapore Naoko Yamano Shonen Knife 2:00
7 Flying Jelly Attack Naoko Yamano Shonen Knife 2:39
8 Black Bass Naoko Yamano Shonen Knife 4:36
9 Cycling Is Fun Michie Nakatani Shonen Knife 4:29
10 Watchin' Girl Michie Nakatani Shonen Knife 2:00
11 I Am a Cat Naoko Yamano Shonen Knife 4:43
12 Tortoise Brand Pot Scrubbing Cleaner's Theme (Green Tortoise) Naoko Yamano Shonen Knife 1:20
13 Devil House Michie Nakatani Shonen Knife 2:59
14 Insect Collector Naoko Yamano Shonen Knife 2:46
15 Burning Farm Naoko Yamano Shonen Knife 5:16
16 Get the Wow Naoko Yamano Shonen Knife 2:19
17 Milky Way Naoko Yamano Shonen Knife 3:48


Tokuji Gunchi - Photography
Ohji Hayashi - Engineer
Craig Montgomery - Engineer
Michie Nakatani - Bass, Composer, Vocals
Page Porrazzo - Executive Producer
Motoi Semba - Engineer
Shonen Knife - Arranger, Primary Artist, Producer
Atsuko Yamano - Design, Drums, Keyboards, Percussion, Vocals
Naoko Yamano - Composer, Guitar, Vocals

Kitschy, dated cover art and glossy production aside, this is a great introduction to Shonen Knife for anyone who's ever been curious about the band. While the aforementioned production work doesn't always lend itself well to Naoko Yamano's or Michie Nakatani's delightfully unadulterated songwriting, it still represents a quantum leap forward from the just-above-boombox-level quality of their earliest recordings; where many of these songs first manifested. Additionally, the chops and studio savvy gained by the ladies after several years of recording and touring (often opening for indie/punk royalty) is plainly evident; giving extra punch and adding a visceral element to the versions of "Bear Up Bison" "Twist Barbie" "Watching Girl" et cetera that appear here. Cross-cultural coquettishness notwithstanding, these songs play more like idiosyncratic punk/pop standards on Let's Knife as opposed to innocent and exuberant demo recordings as they did previously. Above all else the earnestness, particularly of Yamano's tracks, is an absolute revelation for anyone tired of the same old devil-may-care, misanthropic tunes that proliferate today's indie rock channels. She is a woman possessed by the power and majesty of rock music on a level that is palpable bordering on inspirational. Even the mellower, more melodic tunes such as "Black Bass" and "Insect Collector" carry an undeniable heartfelt quality to them which is hard not to get caught up in. Most versions include the bonus single "Get The Wow" b/w the instrumental "Milky Way"; which provide a fitting close to this collection of entertaining and exhilarating cuts. Highly recommended for rock connoisseurs and musical adventurists alike.